Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Writing Home

Live! Tonight!

A Sunday Session with Rob Lewis of The Climate According to Life
2

In a few hours’ time, I’ll be joined by

of for the third in this series of Sunday Sessions.

Back in 2010, Rob’s poem, “I went looking for the wild one”, appeared on the very first page of the first Dark Mountain book – so as a trailer to today’s session, I dug out a copy to read it to you.

Years later, as I came to the end of writing At Work in the Ruins, I reached out to Rob for permission to quote from that poem – and discovered that he was on a fascinating journey which paralleled some of the thinking I’d been doing in my book, but with a focus on an untold story within the history of climate science.

It’s the story of how the understanding of climate change was reduced to models based on CO2, while the role of “land change” and living ecosystems as co-creators of climate got written out, because it was too complex to model with computers.

In today’s session, I’ll invite Rob to share what he’s been learning from walking alongside the scientists who are carrying this other side of the climate science – and what it might mean for how we respond to the trouble in which we find ourselves.

If you’d like to join us live on Zoom, then you’ll need a paid subscription to either Rob’s or my Substack. (Or if that’s an obstacle and you really want to join us, then drop me a mail.)

Friends across the Atlantic – please note that we have moved onto daylight saving time in Europe, so according to your clocks, we’ll be starting an hour earlier than we did in the previous two sessions.

This post is for paid subscribers